Signature Events and Fundraisers

Signature Events and Fundraisers

Congregation Or Tzion’s Largest Annual Fundraiser

Martini Night
will be held
 Saturday, January 20, 2024


Missed the tribute deadline, but still want to donate in honor of Les, Cyndi, and Jamie?

Click below to make a donation to the General Fund.

Still looking for ways to participate in Martini Night?

1. Add yourself to the waiting list, and we will let you know if space opens up. Email


Visit OR text MartiniNight to 76278 and follow the instructions below. 

a.     Reply to the text message you receive with your first and last name
b.     Reply to the text message you receive with your email address
c.     Click on the blue link you receive to access the event site

3. Our 50-50 raffle is already over $2000! Check back soon when the auction is open to purchase 50-50 raffle tickets. You need not be present to win the 50-50 raffle.

Would you prefer to purchase your Martini Night sponsorship over the phone?  Please call Pam in the Or Tzion office at 480-342-8858. 

The Silent Auction Needs YOU!

Please reach out to your contacts and friends who have businesses! The committee is also looking for our members to create and auction off special EXPERIENCES (Shabbat Dinner, Whiskey Tasting, Knife Skills, Tea Party, etc.). Email for more information or to arrange to contribute to the Auction.

Click below for the Auction Letter & Donation Form. 

In addition to the usual fun and festivities, we are excited to announce the introduction of two new annual awards to honor the many deserving members of our congregational community.

Rabbi Micah Caplan z”l Award: This award honors individuals or couples who have provided extraordinary contributions to Congregation Or Tzion, which can be as a financial supporter, an ambassador or advocate for the congregation in the community, an engaged volunteer or participant in congregational programs and activities, a leader in congregation initiatives or campaigns, or some combination thereof. The award is named after Rabbi Micah Caplan, z”l, who was an exemplary leader, both among our members and in the broader community, and who displayed an unparalleled commitment and dedication to the congregation. This award honors those who carry forward Rabbi Caplan’s z”l legacy through their outstanding support.

The Rabbi Micah Caplan z”l Award
will be presented to
Cyndi and Jamie Rosenthal

Sherman Minkoff z”l Service Award: This award honors individuals or couples who have gone above and beyond in their volunteerism and service on behalf of the congregation. Congregation Or Tzion looks to all of its members to be active participants in congregational activities, but this award recognizes those who provide extraordinary time and effort. The award is named after Sherman Minkoff z”l, who stepped forward time and again to make sure that important functions of the congregation happened and worked smoothly. The recipient of this award embodies this same quality.

The Sherman Minkoff z”l Service Award
will be presented to
Les Moskowitz

About Cyndi & Jamie Rosenthal
Cyndi, a community volunteer, recently retired as an EMT with the Phoenix Fire Department and volunteer at the Ryan House of Phoenix. She currently serves on the Jewish National Fund Desert States Board of Directors. Cyndi served on the executive committee of the Board of Directors of the Greater Phoenix Jewish Federation and was Phoenix’s Major Gifts’ Campaign Chair. Cyndi received the Gerda Weissmann Klein award for her efforts in Women’s Philanthropy. In her hometown of Toledo, Ohio, Cyndi was president of the Jewish Federation, and past recipient of Toledo’s Harry Levison Young Leadership Award.  In addition, Cyndi previously served on the National Women’s Board of the Jewish Federation and was a member of its National Young Leadership Cabinet.  

Jamie, born and raised in Sioux City, Iowa, has lived three lives. In Sioux City, besides being a lifelong fruit and vegetable peddler, Jamie was the chairman of the Sioux City Jewish Federation annual campaign, winner of the Sioux City Young Jewish Leader award, and served on the National Young Leadership Cabinet, where he served on its executive board and chaired a national mission to Israel.  In the greater community, Jamie served on the board of the Sioux City YMCA and served three years as an elected member of the Sioux City Board of Education. In Toledo, Jamie served on the board of Temple B’nai Israel synagogue as well as was chairman of the Toledo Young Presidents’ Organization board. Chapter three, Phoenix, Jamie currently serves on the board of the Northwestern Hillel, and locally sits on the boards of both STEP (Student Expedition Program) and the Arizona Gold Young Presidents’ Organization.  

Cyndi and Jamie’s proudest accomplishments are their four children Alexx, Maddie, AJ, and Sadie, and also having recently celebrated their 25th year of marriage.

About Les Moskowitz
Les, a lifelong volunteer extraordinaire and organizer, found his passion for service, especially with social action and social justice, starting at a young age. Les embodies the mitzvot of Tikkun Olam (repairing our world) and Gemilut Chasadim (Acts of Loving Kindness). From 1986-2019, Les was the proud owner of The Stockroom, Inc, the last independent office supply store in Phoenix. The Stockroom was known as the vendor of choice for nearly every Jewish organization, Jewish day and religious schools and synagogues locally. He is currently involved with the Or Tzion Men’s Club and a member of the Social Action, High Holiday and Reserve Study committees, to name a few. 

During and after college, Les served as a USY and confirmation advisor at Beth Am Congregation and Park Synagogue in his hometown of Cleveland, Ohio. Les attended the very first United Synagogue of Conservative Judaism (USCJ) Youth Director and Youth Commissioners trip to Israel in 1995. Les is a graduate of the Melton Center for Jewish Studies and received the Jewish Free Loan’s President’s Award in 2016 for outstanding service to the community.

In the greater Phoenix community, Les spent many years at Greyhound as Director of Operations for the country’s charter division. He sat on the Local First Arizona board of directors and served as treasurer for his homeowners association for over a decade. 

Les, better known as “Papa Yes”, has been married to Linda for 48 years, has three grown children, Michael (Stacy), Adam (Ashley) and Lauren (Jason), and six grandchildren, ranging in age from 2 to 14.

Alison and Michael Feinberg and Judy and Allen Silberman will serve as event co-chairs. We welcome anyone interested to join the planning committee. Please contact Allen Silberman at